ICC Cricket Award 2016

ICC Cricket Award 2016 : –

ICC Cricket Award 2016 : – 

India Starr Offspiner Ravichandran Ashwin stole the limelight at the International Cricket Council (ICC) annual awards by winning 2 top honours on Thursday (December 22). Last Year, India had failed to win any individual award. India’s Ravichandran Ashwin capped off a sensational year by being adjudged the ICC Cricketer of the year to win the Prestigious Sir Garfield Sober Trophy. He Joins Rahul Dravid (2004) and Sachin Tendulkar (2010) as only the third Indian to take away the top individual Honour.

ICC Cricket Award 2016 : –

Ashwin Picked up 72 Wickets from 12 Tests this year, for which he was also named the ICC Test Cricket of the year, Becoming the third Indian Cricketer to win the award after Rahul Dravid in 2004 and Gautam Gambhir in 2009. Ashwin is only the 2nd Indian Player after Rahul Dravid (2004) to bag the two coveted Prizes in the Same Year, Kallis (2005), Pointing (2006), Sangakkara (2012), Clarke (2013), Johnson (2014) and Smith (2015) are the other player to annex both the awards in the Same Years.

Ashwin Said “It’s an absolute pleasure to be awarded with this great honour. It feels great to follow the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid in being named as the ICC Cricketer of the year. To also win the ICC Test Cricketer of the year makes it even better. There are a lot of People to thank for this wonderful achievement I have made. It has been a great couple of years but this year has been even more special. What is very noticeable is the way I have gone about doing my business. What is more Important, as far as I am concerned, is the number of people who have gone behind my success. I’d like to dedicate this award to my family. I’d like to thank ICC and Most importantly my team-mates. I’d also like to thank the support staff for our success. We’ve had a great transition ever since Mahendra Sing Dhoni hung up his boots. A young captain has taken over, we fell on the right track, and we now have a new bunch of boys”.

During the voting Period – 14 September 2015 to 14 September 2016, Ashwin palyed eight Tests in which he took 48 wickets and scored 336 runs. Ashwin also claimed 27 wickets in 19 T20s. Ashwin had finished 2015 as the number one ranked Test Bowler in the world, a position he twice reclaimed in 2016. Ashwin also find a place as the alone Indian in the Test XI Team. India’ limited over vice-captain Virat Kohli has been named as the caption of the ODI Team.

ICC Cricket Award 2016 : – 

According to the ICC, the Voting Academy, comprising respected members of the cricket media from all the Test Playing countries, decided on the Individual awards, while the Selection Panel of Rahul Dravid, Gary Kirsten and Kumar Sangakkara picked the ICC Test and ODI Team of the Year. Alastair Cook Despite the recent 0-4 loss to India has been appointed caption of the Test XI. This the third time Cook has been appointed captain of the Test Side.

South Affrica’s wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock has been named to ICC ODI cricketer of the year with 857 runs from 17 matches including three centuries and three fifties. The Indian Cricketers – Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja and Kholi have found a Place in the ODI Team.

Pakistan Test skipper Misbah ul Haq was given the Spirit of Cricket award, while Bangladesh fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman was named the emerging Player of the Year.

ICC Award 2016: –

ICC Cricketer of the Year: –               Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year: –             Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year: –             Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: –            Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
ICC Women’s T20 Cricketer of the Years: –          
Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

ICC T2o Performance of the Year: –         Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year: –           Mutafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

ICC Associate/ Affiliate Cricketer of the Year: –          Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award: –          Misbah ul Haq (Pakistan)

ICC Umpire of the Year: –        Marais Erasmus (South Africa)

ICC Test Team of the Years 2016: –

  1. David Warner (Australia)
  2. Alastair Cook (England) (Captain)
  3. Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
  4. Joe Root (England)
  5. Adam Voges (Australia)
  6. Jonny Bairstow (England) (Wicketkeeper)
  7. Ben Stokes (England)
  8. Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
  9. Rangana Hearath (Sri Lanka)
  10. Mitchell Starc (Australia)
  11. Dale Steyn (South Africa)
  12. Steve Smith (Australia)

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2016: – 

  1. David Warner (Australia)
  2. Quinton De Kock (South Africa) (Wicketkeeper)
  3. Rohit Sharma (India)
  4. Virat Kohli (India) (Captain)
  5. AB de Villiers (South Africa)
  6. Jos Buttler (England)
  7. Mitchell Marsh (Australia)
  8. Ravindra Jadeja (India)
  9. Mitchell Starc (Australia)
  10. Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)
  11. Sunil Narine (West Indies)
  12. Imran Tahir (South Africa)